Posted by: clholoman | June 29, 2010

Welcome

Thanks for visiting. This is an new venture for me. Although I’ve been a computer user for decades and on the internet before there was a world wide web (remember the good old days of usenet?), I’ve resolutely stayed out of the social media side. As of this writing, I still don’t have a Facebook or Twitter account. But inspired by my daughter Allie and also as part of a broader strategy to raise the web visibility of good old Hilbert College, I’m going to blog about stuff. How’s that for an agenda?

Probably I’ll focus on issues of academics–both in the classroom and in the marketplace. But to keep us all interested, I’m sure there will be nuggets from the world of sports, TV, politics and more!

More links and stuff on the right to come–this is still at the experimental stage!

About the name of the blog: I’ll probably change it, but I hope we can be reminded that education is about the original meaning of liberal: ” from O.Fr. liberal “befitting free men, noble, generous,” from L. liberalis “noble, generous,” lit. “pertaining to a free man,” from liber “free,”

http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=liberal

Leave a Reply

Categories

