Posted by: clholoman | August 10, 2010

A Moment of Personal Privilege

I hope you’ll excuse a brief time-out for me to pay tribute to my Dad, W. Kern Holoman, on the occasion of his 90th birthday today.

Here he is as a sergeant in Paris in 1945. He eventually was a Brigadier General in the NC National Guard:

Here is a picture of my grandfather (whom I never knew) and his four sons. My dad is third from the left. This is when they opened a new location for their department store in 1957. To the best of our knowledge, this is the first case of a major downtown store closing its location to move to the suburbs.

And here’s a relatively recent picture from last summer, with my nephew Michael.

So Happy Birthday, Dad!! I’m glad I get to spend it with him in Raleigh.
Back to blogging in Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

