Posted by: clholoman | September 17, 2010

Meanwhile, back at the fishin’ hole…

In the first post on this blog, I promised (threatened?) that I might mention TV once in a while. It’s amazing it hasn’t happened yet, given how much I love the tube. But now we get to cover what everybody knows is the best show ever, Andy Griffith.

I had somehow missed that Andy himself has stirred up trouble down in NC. Fortunately, Jon Stewart hadn’t and covered it a couple of nights ago. See the video here. It’s got everything–Andy, Dean Smith, and Bill O’Reilly looking stupid.

Have a good weekend.

Responses

  1. Chris, thanks for pointing to this. I had somehow missed that particular episode of Daily Show. Great segement by J. Stewart. BTW I agree with about the classic appeal of the Andy Griffith Show. I used to use clips from old episodes when I was teaching Social Psychology a few years back. Not only is Andy an iconic character (common man, wise, Southern Gentleman) but the show had some great writers.

  2. http://www.newsobserver.com/2010/09/07/669168/poll-andy-griffiths-approval-plummets.html#storylink=misearch

  3. Those old episodes are terrific for illustrating the sexism which was so pervasive during that era. I haven’t actually used the clips in class, but used to refer to various episodes. I stopped when it became apparent that younger students had no idea what I was talking about.


Leave a Reply

Categories

