Posted by: clholoman | August 10, 2011

What’s in a name?

How can I resist posting this? In a few minutes, you can learn some math and learn about a different Hilbert:

Soon after I started at Hilbert, someone asked me if the college was named after the mathematician. Good news: I knew the answer was “no.” Bad news: I had never heard of the mathematician Hilbert. I comfort myself with the fact that the questioner was, himself, a mathematician (and was very disappointed that the answer was “no.”)

Quote from the video: “Hilbert was awesome…” Can we use that in marketing? We’d have to make sure to cut it off before the next phrase: “but he’s dead now.”
(Found in Monica Hesse’s WaPo chat, which is always fun.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

